Book Rec: 24/7 Demon Mart

Not so much a book, as a whole series I’m recommending this time around.

From the synopsis of book 1 The Graveyard Shift

A frightfully funny novel for fans of Tom Holt and Christopher Moore.

Lloyd Wallace is the most clueless crossing guard the intersection of hell and earth has ever seen. So clueless, that he doesn’t even realize the beer cave in the corner store where he works is the gateway to hell.

The gate needs a hero, but Lloyd’s a zero, a loser with a capital L. He’s ten thousand dollars in debt and lives with his parents. He’s been fired from every job he’s ever had. He was the first thing his ex-girlfriend tossed to the curb when she upgraded her life.

He had no money and no prospects until the night he accidentally slayed a one-eyed tentacle monster hellbent on world domination. And, impressed by his pure heart and bravery, the suave but devilish owner of the 24/7 Dairy Mart gave Lloyd a job.

His coworkers—a karate-chopping bombshell and a talking roach with a really bad attitude—need Lloyd’s help to keep the demons in line. Can he man up and become a world-saving hero? Or, will he remain a couch-surfing zero? The fate of the world is on the line. What could go wrong?

24/7 Demon Mart is a new horror-comedy / humorous fantasy series for fans of
A. Lee Martinez
David Wong
Tom Holt
Christopher Moore
Mark Cain
Heide Goody

If you love Exorcist-level demon vomit, brooding Lovecraftian hell monsters, and plenty of laughs, this novel is for you. The Graveyard Shift is the first book in the 24/7 Demon Mart horror-comedy and dark satire fantasy series.

I didn’t think I’d enjoy the books this much, but I can’t get enough of these characters. D.M. Guay has me HOOKED on this series! The characters are funny, the stories are ridiculous in the best ways, and you will never look at demons, or your local 24/7 store, the same way again. The best part for me? These books take place in Ohio, which is close to home for me, living in Indiana not terribly far from the Ohio border and having friends who either have or currently live in Ohio.

Got a recommendation? I’d love to hear it. Seriously, I’ve read over 300 books this year alone. Recommend me books, people.

~H

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s